Main menu


The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is a non-profit trade association offering wide range of certifications in the field of IT. CompTIA certification programs are divided into four categories: core, infrastructure, cybersecurity, and additional certification series.

Exams falling into each of the categories cover different skills and areas of expertise. These range from entry-level certifications suitable for candidates with little or no experience or those changing careers to IT, to expert-level programs designed for experienced IT professionals with advanced knowledge and skills.

Core series: includes basic certification programs suitable for individuals and students preparing to enter the IT workforce and professionals changing careers to IT, or technology-related fields. This category includes CompTIA IT Fundamentals, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, and CompTIA Security+.

Infrastructure certification pathway: includes CompTIA core certification programs followed by CompTIA Linux+, CompTIA Server+, and CompTIA Cloud+.

Cybersecurity certification pathway: includes CompTIA core certification programs followed by CompTIA Pentest+, CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+), and CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+).

Additional professional certification series: includes CompTIA Project+, CompTIA Cloud Essentials+, and CompTIA Certified Technical Trainer (CTT+).

Certification Exam Formula

CompTIA certification exams are computer-based tests. In addition to single/multiple-choice questions and drag and drop questions, current versions of CompTIA exams include the Performance-Based Questions (PBQs).

Performance-based questions require the candidate to perform a task or solve a problem in a simulated IT environment. For each performance-based question, the exam prompts the candidate to perform a specific task or troubleshoot a specific problem.

Performance-based questions on CompTIA exams are designed around real-world computer scenarios to test the knowledge and skills related to different aspects of IT infrastructure, such as the use of a command-line interface, or networking environments.

Test Delivery Program

Starting from July 9, 2012, CompTIA exams are available exclusively via Pearson VUE. Authorized test centers can be found by visiting the Pearson VUE website and using its test center locator utility. Pearson VUE offers a variety of exam booking options, including online scheduling, scheduling by phone, and scheduling via the testing center.

Certification Renewal

CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Linux+, Cloud+, PenTest+, Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+), and Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) certifications expire three years after the date the candidate is certified. These certifications can be maintained by passing the most current CompTIA exam prior to the three-year expiration date, or enrolling in CompTIA's Continuing Education (CE) program.

CompTIA certifications are graded according to the exam difficulty level. The Continuing Education program allows for automatic renewal of the lower-level certifications by passing a higher-level CompTIA certification. As an example, passing the CompTIA Security+ exam grants the CompTIA Security+ certification, and simultaneously updates CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+ certifications, providing that the test taker already has the A+ and Network+ (no new certification is granted through the CE program).


Free Online CompTIA A+ Practice Exams
Free Online CompTIA Network+ Practice Exams
Free Online CompTIA Security+ Practice Exams