Main menu

CompTIA Network+ Certification Exam Overview

The current, active version of the Network+ exam is labeled N10-008. The N10-008 exam was launched September 15, 2021. The approximate retirement date for this exam is 3 years from its release date. The previous iteration of the exam (coded N10-007) was retired June 30, 2022 and is no longer available for test takers.

The actual Network+ certification exam is a single, computer-based test consisting of 90 questions. In addition to the regular multiple choice questions (single and multiple response) and drag and drop type of questions, the N10-008 exam includes Performance-Based Questions (PBQs) requiring test takers to solve problems in a simulated IT environment.

The N10-008 exam has a time limit of 90 minutes and a minimum passing score of 720 on a 100-900 scale. Exam results are available immediately after completing the test. The recommended prerequisites for the Network+ exam include CompTIA A+ Certification and at least 9 to 12 months of networking experience. An additional, general recommendation for every exam provided by CompTIA is that the candidate should be at least 13 years old.

Network+ Exam Domains

CompTIA Network+ N10-008 Certification Exam Domains
Domain% of the Exam Content 
1.0 Networking Fundamentals 24%
2.0 Network Implementations 19%
3.0 Network Operations 16%
4.0 Network Security 19%
5.0 Network Troubleshooting 22%
Total 100%

The general description of certification test topics can be found in exam objectives, which are pdf documents outlining the scope of the actual CompTIA certification test. These documents are published by CompTIA and available for public view.

Exam objectives include domain weighting, test objectives, as well as example topics and concepts for better clarification of the material covered on the actual exam.

CompTIA is constantly reviewing the content of its certification exams and updating test questions to ensure that certification exams stay current and the security of the questions is protected.

Certification test domains might get an update while a given exam remains active, which involves revision of the existing domains, but also inclusion of new topics and concepts.

Exam Booking

Starting from July 9, 2012, CompTIA exams are available only through Pearson VUE testing centers. Exams can be booked online through the Pearson VUE website, by phone, or directly at the testing center. Examination options include an in-person exam at one of the testing centers, or online testing.

Exam Retake Policy

There is no wait period between the first failed attempt and second attempt, but in case of failing at the second attempt, there is a mandatory wait period of at least 14 days between each consecutive attempt after the second failed attempt. Each exam take requires a separate fee.

Network+ Certificate Renewal Policy

Starting from 2011, A+, Network+, and Security+ certifications get +CE (Continuing Education) suffix due to changes in the certificate renewal policies introduced by CompTIA. New certifications (with +CE suffix) must be renewed every three years, as opposed to the old (lifetime) certifications available till the end of 2010. Expired certificates can be renewed either by taking the newer version of the same exam again, renewing a higher-level CompTIA certification, or by fulfilling units from the Continuing Education program offered by CompTIA.

CompTIA Network+ N10-008 exam objectives
Free online CompTIA Network+ practice exams from ExamCompass