Main menu

CompTIA A+ Certification Practice Test Questions

Free online CompTIA A+ practice test questions based on the current A+ exam domains published by CompTIA. All tests are available online for free (no registration / email required). Score reports (a list of all responses with percentage score) are displayed upon completion of each practice exam.

Current version of the CompTIA A+ certification exam has been labeled 220-901 & 220-902. It was launched in December 2015 and retires approximately three years from its release date. Previous release of the A+ series (220-801 & 220-802) retired on December 31st, 2016 and is no longer available for test takers.

A+ Certification Exam Summary

A recommendation on which exam to take can be found on the CompTIA A+ 900 series FAQ page on the official website. A detailed description of the topics covered on each of the CompTIA A+ certification tests can be found in exam domains - pdf documents outlining exam contents published by CompTIA (links to all A+ domains at the bottom of this page). The A+ page on the official site provides more details on the certification test.

Exam Codes: 220-901 & 220-902
Questions: 90
Question Types: Multiple choice / Performance-based
Time Limit: 90 minutes
Passing Score: 675 out of 900 (220-901)
700 out of 900 (220-902)
Other Versions *220-901 & 220-902

*The new exam set available for CompTIA's CAPP Academy (formerly
E2C-Education to Career) members and their students gets the same
exam code as the regular version of the exam.

The actual CompTIA A+ certification exam consists of two separate, computer-based tests; candidates are required to pass both to obtain the A+ certification.

This can be done in any order and each of the exams can be taken at a different date, but both tests must come from the same set of objectives and must be taken before the entire exam retirement date.

In addition to the multiple-choice questions, the 900 A+ certification exams include performance-based questions which require candidates to perform tasks or solve problems in simulated IT environments.

For each performance-based question, the exam prompts the candidate to perform a specific task or solve a specific problem. A simulated environment is then launched in which the candidate completes the required steps.

Each question is designed around real-world computer scenarios that will test a candidate's skills and knowledge and the simulated environments may include different aspects of IT infrastructure, such as command prompts, Windows or networking environments.

Certification Expiry & Exam Retakes

Lifetime certification scheme and A+ bridge exams were dropped with the end of December 2010 and are no longer available. From January 1, 2011, CompTIA A+ certification gets the CE (Continuing Education) suffix.

In order to remain valid, the A+ certification must be renewed within three years from the date the candidate is certified (those certified on or before December 31, 2010 are still considered certified for life). Certification renewal requires either retaking the newer release of the A+ exam or fulfilling some of the requirements from the Continuing Education program.

CompTIA does not offer any free re-tests or discounts on any exam retakes, and candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. There is no waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass the exam, only before the third or any subsequent attempt there is a mandatory waiting period of at least 14 calendar days from the date of the last attempt.

CompTIA A+ Certification Exam Resources

CompTIA A+ 220-901 Exam Domains
CompTIA A+ 220-902 Exam Domains